About G.C.S.

School Information

Educational Programmes

Student Activities



  • Awards201872

Click on Picture above to view Slideshow of Sudent Awards 2018


A special word of thanks to Galway Senior Hurler, Conor Whelan, who spoke to the student group before presenting them with their awards. GCS wish him and the rest of his team well in the coming season. 


Main Awards:

Academic of the Year – David Flanagan

Collegian of the Year – Evan Davis

Student of the Year – Ailish Morrissey

Subject Awards:

Geography - Evelyn Flanagan & Jack Rabjohn

Biology - Darragh Keaveney & Breda Tiernan

Ag. Science - Lauren Griffen & Raymond Joyce 

Home Economics - Ailish Morrissey & Chole Collins

French - Anna Smyth & Lauren Griffen

Construction Studies - Eoin Collins

English - Lauren Griffen

Maths - Lauren Griffen & David Flanagan

Irish - Laura Donegan & Ailish Morrissey

Engineering - Raymond Joyce

D.C.G. - Daragh Keaveney

Art - Ryan Gannon Foster

L.C.V.P. - Carla Kemp

Music - Anna Smyth & Rachel McDermott

Business - David Flanagan & Lauren Griffen

Chemistry - David Madden & Lauren Griffen

History - Ailish Morrissey & Saoirse Cassidy


Arts & Entertainment Awards:

Arts and Entertainment - Maggie Coneran

Choir – Scot Dillon

Trad Group – Caoimhe Lavin

Best Actor - Patrick Coneran

Best Actress - Tara Brady

Contribution to Drama - Katie Shaw


English Language Awards

Poetry Award - Deirdre Croghan

Journalism Award - Kate McGann

RTE Script Writing Award - Laura Swift & Kate McGann

Junior Public Speaking Award - Saoirse Keane

Senior Public Speaking Award - Shannon Flanagan



Special Awards 

Maths Eye Competition National Winner- Ava Joyce

Junk Katoure - Laura Swift, Tara Brady, Patrick Coneran


Mentor Awards 2017/18

Aaron Cunningham, Daragh Keaveney,David Flanagan, Niall Coneally, Evan Davis, Stephen King, Raymond Joyce, Anna Smyth, Rebecca Robson, Karen Kelly, Fia Molloy, Chole Collins, Saoirse Cassidy, Michelly Hussey, Shannon Haugh, Lauren Griffen, Ailish Morrissey, Kelly Higgins, Sarah Kenny



Sports Awards:

Connacht U18 Rugby Player of the Year - Kayley Mannion

1st Year - Ethan O'Dowd

U15 Soccer – Michael Croghan

U17 Soccer – John Duignan & Odhran Geraghty

U19 Soccer - Evan Fahy

U17/U19 Golden Boot - Conor Raftery

1st Year Basketball – Tegan Neary

2nd Year Basketball – Michelle Caulfield

Cadet Basketball – Eva Noone

Senior Basketball – Shannon Haugh

Special Basketball Award - Carla Hanley

Athlete of the Year – Oisin Keane

1st Year Boys Football – Aaron Comer

Juvenille Boys Football – Ciaran Lee

Junior Boys Football – Conor Raftery

Senior Boys Football – Brian Fahey

First Year Girls Football - Tara Tevnan

U14 Girls Football – Caitlin Boyle & Amy Ward

Junior Girls Football - Cailiosa Keaveney & Hannah Noone

Senior Girls Football - Ailish Morrissey & Maeve Flanagan

Female Sports Star 2016/17 – Lynsey Noone

Male Sports Star 2016/17 - Steven Raftery

Attendance Awards:

1st Year - Mairead McGann,Ellen Forsythe, Ethan O'Dowd, Oisin Keane, Ciara Collins, Ciara O'Neill, Niamh Hession, Josephine Burke, Shauna Rabitte, Donald Comer, Marty McGuire, Leah Egan, Sarah Jane Trayers 

2nd Year – Joe Duignan, Emer Fallon, Kate Thornton, Orlaith Keaveney, Claire Comer,Laoise Collins, Ross Fuery.

3rd Year – Lauren Fahey, Darren Hegarty, Rachel Long, Niamh Reilly, Emma Mahe, Mica Comer, Victor Souza Silva.

5th Year - Nathan Marville, Patrick Fitzmaurice, John Croghan  

L. Cert - Niall Coneally, Eoin Collins, Daragh Keaveney, David Flanagan, Gearoid McGann, Anna Smyth, James O'Donnell, Aoife Fallon, Rachel McDermott

Best Junior Cert 2017

Kate McGann

National Highest Junior Cert Metalwork Grade 2017 - Denise Connolly

Academic & Excellence Awards

1st Year - Mairead McGann & Oisin Keane

2nd Year -  Michael Croghan & Laoise Collins

3rd Year - Evan Duffy & Emma Mahe

5th Year - John Croghan, Lucy Collins & John Duignan



Glenamaddy Community School, Church Street, Glenamaddy, Via Castlerea, Co. Galway, F45KF50 


Telephone +353(0)94 9659315 | Fax +353(0)94 9659354 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

RCN: 20149543